The Power of Networking and Faith

I am currently a full-time contract worker. I have a one year employment  contract to provide services to a particular company during regular working hours. Upon completion of the contract, they will either give me a new one year employment contract or not contract my services at all.

April 28, 2015 marks the termination of my contract. Then what do I do?

There is a 50% chance that I will have employment with this particular company after this contract is up and a 50% chance that I won’t. So since my date of employment, I have been actively seeking another job.

I found a job for a Risk Analyst position at a reputable financial institution so I submitted my resume via email. Then I remembered that this woman I know (let’s call her Sandy) used to work at that institution.

Interestingly enough, she currently works for my former employer.

So I decided that it wouldn’t hurt to reach out to her and ask her if she could talk to someone at the firm to get my resume noticed. Of course she said she would. But most people say that and then they don’t really do anything. They were just being courteous. But Sandy kept her word.

I asked her for this favor sometime last week. Bear in mind that it took me far outside of my comfort zone to muster up the courage to ask her to put in a word for me. I prayed that I would receive a better job before my contract is terminated. My husband is currently in school so right now we are operating on a single income household.

On Monday night, I received a message on linkedin from one of my connections. She is currently the acting manager of the department responsible for the Risk Analyst (let’s call her Mary). Mary told me that Sandy spoke to her about me and then Mary told me to email her my resume directly.

(Aside: Mary used to work with my former employer the same time I worked there; And Sandy currently works with our previous employer; Also, Sandy’s former employer is Mary’s current employer. What are the odds!)

I don’t know what’s going to happen. However, I do know that to make things happen, you need to have the right people in your corner. You need to get into the right circle of people that can take you where you want to go. It’s hard for me to step outside of myself and talk to people (hence, I have an anonymous blog). But you have to network to get ahead in life generally. On top of that, it doesn’t hurt to have a little faith. I know that’s what’s gotten me to this opportunity.

Networking coupled with faith can lead to great opportunities.

My advice?….

  1. Figure our where you’re headed and where you want to end up
  2. Connect with people in who are where you need to be or have the resources to get you there
  3.  Show then that you are driven and that you have that something extra
  4. Have faith….even the faith of a mustard seed
  5. Go for it!
One thought on “The Power of Networking and Faith

Leave a Reply

