Happier and More Fulfilling Life: Do More of These Five Things

Gift for my mother in the hospital from co-workers
Gift for my mother in the hospital from co-workers

February has been a very trying month for my family. My mother had undergone surgery, our financed were very strained, stress of academic assignments/studies, and new and demanding Church callings.

Throughout it all, there were still glimmers of light. My mom’s surgery was a complete success! Even her recovery is coming along nicely. Even with a financial strain….. we received great news that our expenses this month were less than expected! Also, in spite of academic stress and additional demand from Church callings, I received a wonderful blessing of a new job.

I know that sometimes in our daily routines we get so caught up with all the pressures and high velocity movement of our day that we miss the small but precious treats that we receive or are a part of.

Sometimes we need to take a step back, take a deep breath and enjoy the benefits life has to offer.

I learned an important lesson from my mother while she was in the hospital. During her recovery in the hospital, she would ask me to help her with her lip gloss and perfume.

My father would ask, “Why are we bothering with those things? They’re not necessary.”

Then my mother responded, “Life is too short to be unhappy and dowdy. I have a lot to celebrate.”

I learned that now more than ever she realized the value of life and she wanted to live every minute of it being happy. So I intend to go the same by doing more of the following:-

  • Smile More
  • Worry Less
  • Plan Better
  • Do what you love
  • Have more faith

I know that by doing these things we can lead a happier and more fulfilling life. I hope we all strive to do this for 2015.

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

