My path of happiness…

Everything happens for a reason

Most of us have heard that saying at some point in our lives. To be honest, I wasn’t sure what to make of it until I started reflecting on my life and how things progressed. I realized that, even if just for a moment, someone may enter your life and say or do something that has the power to impact your way of thinking or alter your perspective.

Four years ago, I was conflicted and had a hard time making a life-changing decision. It felt like the right way to go but I was scared. Life as I knew it would be over and I would have to embark on new, uncharted territory.  Was it something I was ready for? Was this really something I wanted to do?

During this decision making period (or lack thereof), I was approached by a young, very perky guy who just wanted to talk to me and possibly help me to make a decision. Looking back, I realize that this wasn’t coincidence. He entered my life at the exact moment I needed his help. Surely enough I resisted, but eventually agreed to meet with him and his friend to discuss what was plaguing my mind and why I wasn’t able to make a decision.

Ultimately, we realized that I was resisting change. I was afraid of what people would think and how they would react to my decision. Mostly, I was afraid of leaving behind my comfort zone to begin anew. Then there is was…the quote, from these two young guys, that changed my life forever.

After everything you now know, can you honestly just forget it all and go back to the way things were before?

I had to give that one some serious thought. Can someone ‘unlearn’ how to speak, how to walk, how to read? Can you forget the simple things you learned while growing up? Can you ‘unlearn’ the wisdom you’ve acquired during your lifetime of experiences? Maybe it’s possible but I strongly doubt that ‘unlearning’ is a natural process.

It was like a lightbulb suddenly turned on in my brain. That famous quote, credited to Albert Einstein, started to make sense.

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results

It was time to do something different. It was time for change. It was time for a renewal.

We all have the power to choose our own destiny. Along the way, people come into our lives to help us shape that destiny.

I know that choosing to become LDS has changed my life forever. Because of my membership in the Church, I was able to meet my wonderful husband. We are a few weeks away from celebrating our first anniversary. We have challenges, as do any married couple, but we also have great love to overcome them. I can’t picture what my life would have been like if I didn’t choose to accept the help from those two missionaries. But I do know that now I am on the path of happiness.

Leave a Reply

