This is Not a Sermon BUT Have We Completely Missed the Mark?

There’s been a lot going on lately with regards to marriage and rights. I’m not about to speak to any of that. I think as a global population we have missed the mark on things that matter most.

There is so much much contention, hate, violence, greed, lust, prejudice, hate speech in society today that it is hard sometimes to think that there is still love in the world. Whether you are a Christian or not, I truly believe that the realest definition of love is found in the Bible 1 Corinthians 13, in particular verses 4-8  (note: ‘charity’ is used to mean ‘love’):

Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up,

Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil;

Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth;

Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.

Charity never faileth:

Basically love is just really being completely selfless, being truly humble enough to walk away from an argument and to apologize, really seeking to uplift and help those around you instead of having bad thoughts about others and most importantly, it is unwavering.

That’s the type of love I want to receive and that’s the type of love I want to be known to give.

It is hard and I know I’m not there as yet. But I am trying. I’m trying to see everyone as beautiful even with their broken wings. I’m trying to love unconditionally instead of judging every action. I may not see eye-to-eye with someone but I want to be able to respect their point of view and to be humble and patient enough to try to understand their perspective.

I want to receive a love that will transcend even time and space. But to receive that love I need to be that love. Even in the concrete a rose can bloom though the cracks. Let us be that rose that brightens the monochromatic landscape of skepticism, cynicism, narcissism.

Life is beautiful. You are beautiful. Bloom through the grey.

Leave a Reply

