Cheers to the New Year?… Three Tips

Most people use the new year as a time to make resolutions, to start fresh, to improve or change things in their lives. Indeed that is commendable but how long does this ‘new year craze’ last? Does it last? Or is it that we lack commitment?

I am very guilty of this. However, I’ve improved a lot in 2015. I’m not quite where I want to be in committing to goals that I set at the beginning of each new year but I know that each year I become more driven than the previous.

So….

  1. Do not make new years resolutions instead make S.M.A.R.T (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic and Timely) goals. This clever and useful acronym was introduced to me by my brother-in-law. I tried it in 2015 and it made me much better off than I was in prior years.
  2. Even if you get off to a late start, “better late than never“. So what if you didn’t implement your plan on January 1st? There are still 364 (well 365 in 2016) more days to start.
  3. It’s okay if you stray off course somewhere throughout the year. It happens to the best of us. The key is not to quit. If you fall, pick yourself back up and keep it moving. You can still finish the race once you don’t give up.

Cheers to the New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

