Journey to Self-Improvement

uwi path

Hi everyone! I know it’s been a long time since I’ve posted. I’ve been really busy with my job and making lifestyle changes to become a healthier and fitter me.

I’ve come a long way and I’m really proud of myself. I’ve lost 17lbs since the start of 2016 and I’m trying to lose an additional 5-8lbs by the end of 2017. Unfortunately I don’t have any before and after pictures because I was so uncomfortable with my weight gain that I didn’t take pictures and I didn’t even want to be seen. I’ve always been a petite girl so it was hard being looked on as “chubby” or “fatty”.

However, I’ve been fortunate to have a loving and supportive husband who would always tell me I’m beautiful and would encourage me when I started crying or felt like quitting.

George's concrete rose

 

THINGS I HAVE LEARNT

  1. The most important thing is to love yourself. You don’t have to look like a supermodel to be beautiful. You are beautiful just the way you are and you don’t need to be validated by others. I am trying to love myself more and I’m on this journey to be the best version of myself.
  2. Take care of your body, mind and spirit. Fitness and healthier eating have become a lifestyle for me. Don’t get me wrong, I will still have that slice of cheesecake and chocolate cake or ice cream but everything in moderation. I will have those treats maybe once for the week; and when I do, I have one small slice instead of half the cake. I’ve started eating vegan pizzas instead of the greasy ones and I’ve switched to vegetarian cheese instead of cheddar (because I love cheese on everything). I’ve cut down on the salty snacks too. I hardly eat cheese curls and tortilla chips. Instead I have lentil chips, quinoa chips and hummus chips. I still LOVE meat so I’m not vegan but I have adopted some of the vegan styles of eating. Aside from diet, I exercise 3-6 days a week depending on how busy my week is. I do cardio and weight training at home, sometimes I go jogging (2.5km, trying to build up to 5km) and I go hill walking once a week for increased resistance. I’ve recently decided to treat myself to the spa once a month for pedicures and massages. I’ve been trying to listen to mediation music about half hour before going to bed so that I can clear my mind to visualize my goals and then go to bed for a peaceful slumber. I’ve also been trying to read one book per month, whether self-improvement, great novels or classics.
  3. Stay positive and never give up. I have been fortunate to have my husband as support but even when you do have someone behind you, it can still get lonely at times. In these moments it is very important to visualize your goals or what you want out of life and go after it! Sometimes this can be in the form of daily affirmations. Whatever or wherever you draw your inner strength from, hold on to it.

On your journey to self improvement you will stub your toe a few times but just keep trekking. You be a source of inspiration to others and it will be beautiful.

waterfront

Leave a Reply

